Yuri Manga: Collectors

collectors-coverRecently I’ve been really into reading yuri manga with adult characters. Not that there is anything wrong with the high school or any other setting. It’s just nice to some times read something with characters who are further along in life and a relationship. That is where Collectors by Nishi Uko hits the sweet spot for me. The manga follows Nitou Shinobu and Tanazaki Takako, two women who are both avid collectors and who are already in a long standing relationship.

What it comes down to is a romantic slice of life story covering the day to day life of these two women and their friends. It’s actually really sweet and has this more realistic style, which is kind of refreshing from the usual cute anime style (Not that there is anything wrong with that). The manga is written a yonkoma format, with each part telling a short story. But all of the parts in each chapter are somewhat tied to each other.

I would also like to quickly touch on the art. It has these really light pen strokes, making it feel really nice and easy on the eyes. The art is as I mentioned above more realistic, but still not super detailed, making it really easy to remember and recognize characters just from their silhouette.

Speaking of really memorable characters, I’ve got to say that I really like Shinobu. Mostly because she kind of reminds me of myself in some way. She’s outspoken and honest almost to a fault and has a tendency to get snowed in on the things she enjoys, being able to spend hours doing just that one thing and still having fun. Which are quirks that I can really relate to.

collectors-snuggleAt the end of the day I would really recommend reading Collectors if you feel like reading something with two character who are already in a relationship. Because it is way to common in my opinion for manga and anime to lead up to the big kiss or the confession and then end. I think that life after getting together is more interesting than the road leading up to it. But that is just my opinion, so please tell me if you agree or have another opinion in the comments.

 

 

1 thought on “Yuri Manga: Collectors”

Leave a Reply

