First Impressions: Masamune-Kun No Revenge

masamune-kun-no-revengeThere is honestly not much to say about this first episode to be honest. I just found it generic (Even more generic than Akiba’s Trip), mean-spirited and just plain bad. The story follows Makabe Masamune who used to be overweight as a child and because of that he got turned down by his childhood love Adagaki Aki. Flash forward many years and Makabe has improved himself and is now a good looking high school student and when he encounters Adagaki Aki again, he is prepared to exact his revenge by making her fall in love with her and then finally dumping her.

This is one really petty premise if you ask me and the views on body image are not any better. The first thing they state is that if you are not fit and good looking you are a nobody in this world. Sure, the main character will probably learn some kind of lesson which makes him change his views and ways, but I am not planning to stick around to see that happen.

I was not expecting much going in and it seems that I was right in doing so. At the end of the day most harem anime go along the same story track anyway, so there is not much to be surprised by. So I am going to give this one a pass!

2 thoughts on “First Impressions: Masamune-Kun No Revenge”

  1. Have to agree that this first episode was underwhelming (and that’s assuming you ignore the terrible premise). I’m probably going to give it another episode but I am definitely expecting this to end up on my dropped list. Thanks for sharing your thoughts on it.

    Like

    1. I am sadly kind of underwhelmed by this season as a whole. There are only two shows that I am honestly looking forward to and those are Little Witch Academia and Kobayashi-San Chii no Maid Dragon. But I am planning on checking out at least one episode of a few other shows as well.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

